#### I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 🔗

Introduced by:

J. A. Lujan Mike Cruz, M.D. MQ

### RELATIVE TO COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE ASSOCIATION OF FILIPINO PRESIDENTS ON GUAM ON THE OCCASION OF THEIR EIGHTH ANNIVERSARY

# BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, the Filipino community on Guam has been growing and 4 thriving as families relocate and younger generations start families of their 5 own; and

6 WHEREAS, members of the Filipino community have initiated formal 7 associations according to provincial and professional affinities, to celebrate 8 common traditions, perform works of general benefit to the community at 9 large, and promote the interest of their members; and 112 ILL 33 PH 5:

**,** 

WHEREAS, the members of each such association has recognized and
 placed in positions of authority and trust nominees from their own ranks,
 producing a growing number of recognized community leaders; and

• •

WHEREAS, in 1997, a group of current and former elected association
leaders organized to accommodate the energies, and further the interests, of
all past and present Presidents and Vice Presidents of the various Filipino
ethnic organizations; and

8 WHEREAS, the Association of Filipino Presidents On Guam was duly 9 established as a charitable organization under the laws of Guam on July 9, 10 1997; and

WHEREAS, the first Induction of Officers and Board of Governors was
held at the Palace Hotel on August 15, 1997, under the chairmanship of Mr.
Ernie Cid; and

WHEREAS, since that first Induction of Officers other prominent
leaders from the Filipino community have chaired the Association of Filipino
Presidents on Guam, namely Jose R. Guevara, Concepcion Viray, James
Robinson, and Mert Uy; and,

WHEREAS, the Association of Filipino Presidents on Guam ("AFPOG")
was formed to promote and enhance the professional development of its
members, and to foster camaraderie, good relationships and unity among its
members; and

WHEREAS, AFPOG further seeks to actively participate in community
affairs and extend assistance as its members deem appropriate; and

2

WHEREAS, the accomplishments and good works of AFPOG are many,
including contributions to the American Red Cross Guam Chapter, a
scholarship for deserving Business majors attending the University of Guam,
professional development sessions for its members, and participating in
various community activities and projects; and

• • •

6 WHEREAS, Members of the Association of Filipino Presidents on Guam 7 celebrate their cumulative progress and look forward with confidence on the 8 occasion of the Eighth Anniversary and Induction of Officers and Board of 9 Governors, held on May 27 at Guam Marriott Hotel's Chamorro Ballroom A; 10 now, therefore, be it

11 **RESOLVED,** that *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* hereby congratulates and 12 commends, on behalf of the People of Guam, the Members of the Association 13 of Filipino Presidents on Guam, for its eight years of service to this 14 community; and now be it further

RESOLVED, that *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* extends its congratulations and
best wishes for continuing success and vitality to Ms. Perla Aquino Carreon,
Chairman for the 2005-2006 term; and be it further

18 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 19 Legislature attest to the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 20 thereafter transmitted to Ms. Perla Aquino Carreon, the incoming 21 Chairperson of the Association of Filipino Presidents of Guam; and to the 22 Governor of Guam.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NALIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THEDAY OF2005.

3

MARK FORBES Speaker

### EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature